Macy’s European Coffeehouse & Bakery

Dare I say it? This place is overrated.

We stopped here on our way back from the Grand Canyon (reveling in our post-18 mile day hike soreness) because I found this place online. It had over 500 Yelp reviews (the next best place was below 200) and every single one was an ecstatic patron writing about their wonderful experience. Figured we had to try it.

I got an americano because that’s how they do their coffee- no drip machine where they just pour you a cup. Just like Roos does it in Ann Arbor. I got a medium, which I assume was two shots because it was very strong. I almost put milk in it to cut the bitterness, something I never do. But, I’ve discovered if you just keep drinking, it gets better.

This place was packed. They were playing strange experimental music while we were there- definitely the kind of shop where baristas make the playlists. I’m not sure what the appeal is. I mean, it’s a cool place, but there are lots of other coffee shops in the city people could go to. Maybe this is the one closest to the Northern Arizona University Campus. (On our way out, we drove down a street that head every fast food chain I’ve ever heard of and some I hadn’t represented. That’s how you know it’s a college town) Macy’s also has a sizable food menu, all vegetarian. Perhaps that’s what draws everyone in. Maybe it’s just been there a long time so it’s grown it’s following. Whatever the secret is, I’d say this shop is good, but I don’t love it as much as the various people who made fan art to be hung in the restaurant. This is the kind of coffee shop that sells shirts and other merchandise with its logo on it and it makes sense to me. (more on that in my next post)

Also- while we were wandering around Flagstaff looking for murals my friends could take pictures in front of, (sigh) I popped into a book store and found the one picture below for my two-year old nephew. It was a small shop called Starrlight Books with a killer selection. I’d highly recommend it. My nephew is starting Spanish immersion in a year or two so I figured I had to pick this book up when I saw it. Can you read the title? You’ll have to teach it to me in French.

Do you have cold brew? Not that I saw!

Closes at 8PM daily

14 S Beaver Street
Flagstaff, AZ, 86001

img_4751

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

