District Doughnut

As you probably guessed from the title, this isn’t a coffee place. Karina (pictured below) woke up and texted me from her bed that she wanted a doughnut. We had plans to study in the Library of Congress that afternoon, but I was also itching for a macaroon from this place called The Sweet Lobby and knew there was a doughnut shop down the street, so we decided to fuel up before hunkering down in the reading room.

I didn’t have a doughnut from here because I was saving myself for macaroons, so I asked Karina to write you a review of hers: “It was doughy and moist. Like I was eating a doughnut and drinking cider all at once (I had an apple cider cake doughnut). Overall 6/10.”

Now on to the coffee. District Doughnut sells Compass Coffee (a DC company). I wasn’t going to get anything, but then I saw they had cold brew. So obviously I got a cold brew. It was pretty good. Not the best, but pretty good.

Overall, I would recommend this place if you’re in the mood for a very intense doughnut experience, not for a cup of coffee. Which makes sense because it’s a doughnut shop.

Side note: If you come to DC, you should get a reader’s card for the Library of Congress. They’re free for anyone doing research and very easy to get. I love studying in there. I could stare at the ceiling forever.

Do you have cold brew? Yes! WAHOO

Hours:
Closed Monday
T-F: Closes at 4PM
S-S: Closes at 5PM

749 8th Street SE
Washington, DC, 2003

img_3548

Leave a Reply

