Three Fifty Bakery and Coffee Bar (Luke’s)

I don’t know if you know this about me, but I absolutely love Gilmore Girls. I used to watch it all the time growing up, dreaming of living in a town as small as Stars Hollow where everyone knows each other. In some ways, it reminds me of what I imagine it would be like to live in the heart of downtown Rockford. I’m not sure if I would love it or hate it.

This past Wednesday, the Gilmore Girls people did a huge promotional event where coffee shops across the country put random Rory and Lorelai paraphernalia on their walls, made their baristas wear “Luke’s” hats and aprons and slapped a “Luke’s” sign (see below image) on the exterior to mimic the show. When my investigative partner Rebecca asked me if I wanted to go to one with her, obviously I said yes. We left work early for this and stayed at the shop for less than ten minutes. It was underwhelming yet strangely fulfilling.

I’ve been trying not to drink caffeine after 2:00 PM, so I got a hot chocolate. I haven’t had one in a very long time. It’s hard to be unhappy while drinking a hot chocolate, especially while pretending you’re in Stars Hollow.

There was not much indoor table space, but a good amount of outdoor seating. This was a cute spot, and they had a lot of food options. My investigative partner was fawning over a broccoli cheddar quiche while we waited in line.

Do you have cold brew? I don’t know. Twas far too late in the day for me to think about caffeine. Sorry. Perhaps I’ll head back someday and update this. Stay tuned.

1926 17th Street NW
Washington, DC, 2009

Monday-Friday 7AM-7PM
Saturday-Sunday 8AM-6PM

IMG_2806.jpg

Leave a Reply

